What’s Up With These Funny Looking Fruit? Osage Orange?

What’s Up With These Funny Looking Fruit? Osage Orange?Image

If you are like me, before setting in Kentucky I had never seen the Osage Orange nor had I ever heard of them.  I stumbled across them near a community soccer field and was perplexed by these yellow, heavy balls hanging in the trees.  I picked one off the ground and went home to research what I had found.

The Osage Orange, or Hedge Apple is what I found the fruit to be.  The fruit only grow on the female trees and smell lemony and are a favorite of the squirrels.  I found out they were a natural insect repellant so whether it works or not I am not sure but we manage to find some most every year and put around the perimeter of our house.  Anyone else know much about them? Share your story!

 

As a community minded and dynamic residential Realtor, Cindy Crutcher’s intentions and commitment is to be an invaluable resource for buyers and sellers in the Lawrenceburg, KY real estate market.  Cindy is passionate about working and living in Lawrenceburg, KY.  Cindy is result driven and works hard to provide top notch service.  Call Cindy at 502-680-9822 with any questions or for more information.  Exit Realty Crutcher.

 

Leave a Reply

